logo unifrscilogo unifrmath6.jpglogo UNIFR
Colloque Numérique Suisse / Schweizer Numerik Kolloquium

April 25, 2008

Université de Fribourg, Campus Pérolles



Presentations online



Poster template

Practical information

Historical overview


Historical overview

In October 1976, a three-day meeting devoted to numerical analysis was held at the EPFL in Lausanne. The organizers, J. Descloux and J. Marti, suggested that similar reunions of Swiss numerical analysts should take place at a regular basis. In an informal discussion at the Rutishauser Symposion in October 1980, organized by W. Gander, P. Henrici and J. Marti at the ETH Zürich, it was considered suitable to restrict the event to one day. As of 1981, annual meetings took place except for the years 1996, 1998, and 2000-2004, under the name "Journée Suisse d'Analyse Numérique / Schweizer Tagung über Numerische Mathematik". The colloquium tradition has been revived in 2005 by Profs. M. Chipot and S. Sauter from Universität Zürich with the "Schweizer Numerik Kolloquium / Colloque Numérique Suisse".

The list of venues of the Colloquium follows.

Year Date Hosting institution Host/organizer
1976 Oct 11-13 EPFL Lausanne J. Descloux, J. Marti
1980 Oct 15-17 ETH Zürich W. Gander, P. Henrici, J. Marti
1981 May 8 EPFL Lausanne J. Descloux
1982 May 7 ETH Zürich J. Marti
1983 May 13 Université de Fribourg H. Brunner
1984 May 25 Université de Neuchâtel P. Banderet
1985 Mar 29 HTL Buchs SG W. Gander
1986 Mar 7 Université de Genève B. Gisin, G. Sottas,G. Wanner
1987 Apr 10 Ecole Technique d'Informatique Sierre VS J-M. Blanc, R. Roubaty, M.A. Berclaz
1988 Apr 15 ABB Baden-Dättwil H. Niessner, W.J. Wiesman, J. Bernasconi
1989 Apr 14 Universität Zürich H.R. Schwarz
1990 Apr 20 PSI Villigen St. Adam, E. Gujer
1991 May 14 EPFL Lausanne J. Rappaz, M. Romerio
1992 Apr 16 ETH Zürich J. Marti
1993 Apr 1 Université de Fribourg J-P. Berrut
1994 Apr 15 ABB Baden-Dättwil H. Niessner, W.J. Wiesman, W. Egli
1995 Apr 7 Université de Neuchâtel O. Besson
1997 Mar 5 Université de Genève G. Wanner, E. Hairer
1999 Oct 12 HTL Fribourg J-M. Blanc
2005 Mar 24 Universität Zürich St. Sauter, M. Chipot
2006 Apr 12 EPFL Lausanne J. Rappaz, A. Janka
2007 Apr 4 Université de Genève M. Gander, E. Hairer, K. Santugini
2008 Apr 25 Université de Fribourg J-P. Berrut, A. Janka
2009 ??? Universität Basel M. Grote
2010 ??? ETH Zürich R. Hiptmair, Ch. Schwab

We thank Prof. Jörg Waldvogel and Dr. Herbert Niessner for submitting and updating this nice overview. If you have any additional information, please let us know by email to colloqnum08@unifr.ch