Steering Committee

President: Alain Valette
Alain Valette
Université de Neuchâtel
Institut de mathématiques
Faculté des Sciences
Unimail Rue Emile-Argand 11
2000 Neuchâtel (Switzerland)
Phone  ++41 (0)32 718 28 05
Vice President: Joachim Rosenthal
Vice President
Joachim Rosenthal
University of Zurich
Department of Mathematics
College of Science
Winterthurerstrasse 190
8057 Zürich (Switzerland)
Phone  ++41 (0)44 635 58 84
Secretary: Christiane Tretter
Christiane Tretter
University of Bern
Mathematical Institute
Sidlerstrasse 5
3012 Bern (Switzerland)
Phone  ++41 (0)31 684 88 20

According to the Bylaws of the SMS the period of office of the President, the Vice President and the Secretary is two years. Each office bearer is elected by the General Assembly. Usually, the Secretary is running for Vice President, and the Vice President for President. It is a custom to rotate the offices among the Mathematics Departments in Switzerland (see the list of Past Presidents) which also ensures a fair balance of languages.